B3: Back To My Roots

In stock

Price includes VAT, plus delivery

"Back To My Roots" is the debut album of B3, the new Fusion project of keyboard player, composer and music producer Andreas Hommelsheim.


„As if the legendary Joe Zawinul and his band Weather Report came to life again“ (Berliner Morgenpost)


„Driving Fusion grooves, hot guitar solos, razor-sharp brass parts and powerful drums“ (Jazz thing)


With its unique sound and its endless possibilites B3 is probably the best-known version of the legendary Hammond organ. For the experienced Berlin-based musician and music producer Andreas Hommelsheim it is an integral part of his creative work and central to his latest project. With his trio "B3" he explores new paths and at the same time he builds on what already drove him when he was a teenager: Making music without compromises. Back to my roots.

For over 20 years Hommelsheim has been working successfully in the dubbing business. As musical director he is responsible for the synchronizations of well-known film productions just like "The Beauty And The Beast", "Pocahontas", "The Hunchback Of Notre Dame", "The Phantom Of The Opera", "South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut”, and recently "Ice Age 4" and "Epic". He worked with Ennio Morricone, Andrew Lloyd Webber and Hans Zimmer and was honored with a gold disc as the producer of the original German soundtrack of "The Lion King".

On "Back To My Roots" you won’t miss his experience in film scores and the music of his piano-playing role models Bob James, Chick Corea, George Duke, Dave Grusin or Jeff Lorber. Starting from the concentrated energy of a trio, Hommelsheim develops his ideas and makes the listener feel like being at the movies. Jazz, blues and rock merge to an imaginary force that send you through a rainy Paris, to a California bar and back to New York City on the Lincoln Highway, driven by this incredible groove created by Christian Krauss on bass and Lutz Halfter on drums. Funk or rock music, dreamy or euphoric, "Back To My Roots" in his tone is just as versatile as it is in his emotions. You may call it acoustic cinemascope when Hommelsheim’s melodies and hooks meet on a virtual screen, picked up by high-class guest musicians such as Ron Spielman (g, voc) and Jerry Watts (b). Despite their sophisticated arrangements and production, all 11 album tracks still strive for one thing: To be played live.


01 No More 521 (4:12)
02 Jeff's Song (6:03)
03 Lucky Day (8:01)
04 G Major Song (4:49)
05 Dream On (6:00)
06 You Are The Only One (9:40)
07 I Miss You (7:14)
08 Letter To Sydney (8:18)
09 Blues Etude (6:47)
10 Lamento (6:29)
11 Isabella (I Miss You) (4:22)

Total length: appr. 71:55


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices include VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: All products, Homepage, Jazz